Kashmir MagazineKashmir News EyeDaily Ilhaaq

Hunger strike leaves condition of many teachers critical

TJAC condemns silence of authorities


Srinagar, Sep 06 (KNS): The Hunger strike given by Teachers Joint Action Committee (TJAC) at Jammu from 30 August and from 3 September at Pratap Park Srinagar for implementation of 7th Pay Commission in favour of SSA teachers, Head teachers and RMSA Masters and Headmasters and linking of Salary with State sector.
Speaking at Pratap Park to teachers at Hunger strike, Mr Wani said that the response and support from entire teaching community at Jammu and at Srinagar for solidarity with the teachers at Hunger Strike is highly appreciable and teachers have now realized that it is now do or die situation for teaching fraternity to get the genuine demands redressed.
Wani urged upon the Governor of the state Satya Pal Malik, Advisors to Governor Khursheed Ahmad Ganie, B. B. Viyas, Chief Secretary B.V Subramanyium, and Sect Education Rigzian Sampheal for immediate implementation of 7th Pay Commission and linking of Salary issue with State sector.
Wani warned that if any damage caused to any teacher during hunger strike, will have serious consequences and responsibility shall lie on the shoulders of the Government. Wani condemned the silence of Govt on this sensitive issue.
He thanked saluted the teaching fraternity of the state for their full support for hunger strike program and appealed the teaching fraternity to be united at this crucial juncture to fight any nefarious designs of Government.
Wani said that Teachers Joint Action Committee will never bow down before pressure tactics of Govt and pressure tactics will prove counterproductive for them. Wani appealed all civil society activists, religious organisations, political and non political organisations to support the joint cause of teaching fraternity at this juncture to show solidarity with the builders of nation.
The leaders of Teachers Joint Action Committee on hunger strike Mohd Akbar Khan, Mohd Afzal Bhat, Parvaiz iqbal Shah, Nazir Ahmad, Khursheed Ah Malik, Arshid Hussain Bhat, Feroz Ahmad, Ab Aziz Malik, Showkat Ali Beig, Mohd Amin Khan, Mashooq Ahmad Sheikh, Pir Mushtaq Ahmad, Mushtaq Ahmad Magray, Bhat Showkat, Pirzada shariefudin, Farooq Ahmad Sofi, Ahmadullah Wani,Khadim Raza, syed Hussain, Mohd Ashraf, Shah Aashiq, Ghulam Jeelani, Riyaz Ahmad, Javid Wagoora, Gh Hassan Parray, Himayoon Aarif, Zakir Hussain, Zakir Ahmad, Bilal Ahmad, Gulzar Ahmad, Hadi Ali, Zahoor Ahmad Kukernag, Bilal Ahmad Wani, Shameem Shah, Syed Shamasudin, Gh Qadri, Mohd Shafi, Tahir Iqbal Pir, Mohd Hanief, Showkat Rehman Wani were at Hunger Strike during which the condition of several leaders got critical and were referred to nearby Hospitals for treatment.
Senior leaders of Teachers Joint Action Committee Gazi Ab Aziz, Mohd Rafeeq Rather, Shah Fayaz, Pir Nisar Ahmad, Saleem Sagar, Riyazul Rehman, Qayoom Sanie, Harpal Singh Pali, Qazi Tasleem, Shabir Ahmad Bhat, Hatim Qayoom, Syed Iftiqar Geelani and others spoke on the occasion. (KNS)