Govt must come clean on Land eviction order; DAP protest campaign reaches Poonch

Poonch, Jan 24 (KNS):  The peaceful protest campaign of Democratic Azad Party on tuesday reached to Poonch district, demanding the withdrawal of order which directs authorities to evict the land from the common people.

Accoording to a statement issued to KNS, reads that Hundreds of workers, leaders from the party defying the weather conditions and incessant rains marched towards the office of district development commissioner amid slogans of "Land Order wapis lo” and submitted the memorandum in presence of General Secretary R. S. Chib, Jugal Kishore Sharma Provincial President, Salman Nizami Chief Spokesperson, Riyaz Bashir Naz DDC Member & Secretary DAP, Ex MLA Ashok Sharma, Secretart Masood Choudhary, Zonal President Zahid Sarfaraz Malik, Senior DAP leader Sobat Ali & others seeking revocation of order. R.S.Chib said that the order is unfair which denies a dignified living to common people and rendering them homeless overnight.

“All we want an election in Union Territory immediately. Let the people elect the government who can decide their fate,” he said. He said the statements of government are misleading and needs to be cleared in written. Chief Spokesperson Salman Nizami said, the LG Manoj Sinha says that poor won’t be touched and only the land grabbed by influential and powerful people will be retrieved. But on ground the reality is different and the poor is suffering the most,” he said, adding a directive shall be issued by the government which makes the things clear and poor can defend themselves legally. The DAP leaders said that the protests will continue in future peacefully to ensure the rights of the common people are not violated by this executive diktat. “If needed we can go for UT level peaceful agitation. Our demand is simple and clear. Spare the poor and needy. Revoke the order as soon as possible.

” Among others who participated in the protest were Haji Mohammad Sadiq, Nazir Tantry, Ch Akbar Dedhar, Ch Mohd Hanief, Bashir Ahmed Thakkar, Ch Fazal badana, Iqbal Shiekh, Farooq Khan Aslam shiekh, Azad Chohan, Ahmed Din, Haji Khadim Hussain, Sanaullha Shikh, Ghulam Mohd Diku, Ab Hamid Bhat, Javaid Tantry, Aziz Shiekh, Sanjeev sharma, Bittu Sharma, Gurjeet Singh, Sunny Sharma & others.(KNS)

To Top