Delimitation Commission submits final order to redraw electoral map of J&K

Srinagar, May 05 (KNS): Jammu and Kashmir Delimitation Commission that was mandated to redraw boundaries of assembly and Lok Sabha constituencies in the Union Territory has submitted its final order today, reports said here. 

Reports reaching Kashmir News Service (KNS) said that the commission submitted its final draft report today after duly signing it following a meeting at Election Commission office at New Delhi. Notably, the commission completed its exercise after two years. 
They said that the after submitting the final report to the government, the order will be issued through a gazette notification.
The Commission is headed by Justice (retired) Ranjana Prakash Desai, while Chief Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra and the state Election Commissioner of Jammu and Kashmir are also members of the panel.
The panel was set up in March 2020. It was granted a one-year extension last year. In February, it was given a two-month extension to complete its task. Its term was to otherwise end on March 6.
Reports added that the commission has recommended increasing the number of Assembly seats in the UT. For Kashmir, it has been suggested to increase the seats from 46 to 47, while in the Jammu region seats will be increased from 37 to 43. Now, J&K will have 90 Assembly seats.
“The six new Assembly constituencies in the Jammu region are expected to be carved out from Rajouri, Doda, Udhampur, Kishtwar, Kathua, and Samba districts. The one new seat for the Kashmir Valley would be reportedly be carved out from the Kupwara district,” reports said. 
With the commission submitting its final report, the Election Commission is expected to announce Assembly elections in J&K and the elections are expected to be held in October this year. 
Notably, Union Home Minister Amit Shah has assured said that J&K elections would be conducted after the delimitation exercise was over and also consultations are held with all the stakeholders. (KNS)

To Top