DAP demands written order against land eviction, protests at Batote

 Jammu, Feb 1 (KNS) : Democratic Azad Party on Wednesday continued the protests against the land eviction order and hundreds of its workers hit the streets in Batote.

The party workers and leaders sought the written order by LG administration mentioning that no poor shall be touched and houses demolished by the authorities.“While the government on one side gives verbal assurances that no poor shall be touched, on the other hand the authorities are demolishing properties of poor and needy people,” Vice Chairman G.M.Saroori said. He said the government shall clear the confusion and give a written order to all district authorities, directing them not to touch properties of the poor, especially shops and homes.

Chief Spokesperson Salman Nizami said that if the government is saying that poor will not be touched then why the notices are served to all. " Poor people have nowhere to go. Government can’t act so brutally and destroy their homes. This is in no way reflecting the welfare state policies,” he added. Hundreds of protesters chanted slogans against the anti encroachment drive launched by the government and said that the DAP will not stay silent unless they get a written assurance. “As long as the written assurances are not given we will continue to protest,” the protesters said. To mention here, DAP has been protesting across all regions of Jammu and Kashmir ever since the order was issued. R.S. Chib Gen Secy also addressed the protesters over phone & appreciated the workers for holding strong protests against the land order. The memorandum was submitted to the Tehsildar Batote in presence of Vice Chairman G.M.Saroori, Chief Spokesperson Salman Nizami, Arun Singh Raju Secretary, Councillor MC Batote Shahrukh Bhatti, Provincial Secretary Farooq Choudhary, Dharam Chand, Surjeet, Shabir Sheikh, Sarpanch Farooq Lone, Atta Mohd Zargar, Mohd Ishaq, Mohd Shafi, Kunju Panch, Shaheen Begum Panch, Ikhlaq Magray, Mohd Hussain, Mohd Yousaf, Mushfiq Lone, Rajesh Kant, Jai Gopal Singh, Kartar Singh, Attar Singh, Vikram Singh & others. (KNS) 

To Top