Kashmir MagazineKashmir News EyeDaily Ilhaaq

SSA teachers begin indefinite hunger strike in support of 7th pay commission

Hunger strike will continue till issues are redressed: Wani


Srinagar, Sep 03 (KNS): The Sarva Shiksha Abhiyaan (SSA) on Monday began their indefinite hunger strike to press the government over their demands including implementation of 7th pay commission in favour of SSA, RMSA teachers and masters and delinking of their salaries from MHRD to state sector.
Dozens of SSA teachers headed by Teachers Joint Action Committee (TJAC) chairman, Abdul Qayoom Wani assembled at Pratap Park here and begun its already announced indefinite hunger strike in which all the state and provincial level leaders participated in first phase.
The SSA teachers said that the indefinite hunger strike has begun to register the protest against the ‘step-motherly’ attitude of Govt against nation builders who are protesting since months together for the redressal of their genuine issues.
All the leaders of TJAC unanimously urged upon the govt to redress the issues of teachers and masters as early as possible.
Speaking on the occasion, Wani said that “the government is forcing us to come on roads to press for our demands.”
Wani said that implementation of 7th pay commission is legal right of teachers and masters working under SSA and RMSA. He said that the govt has deprived these teachers and masters from 7th pay commission, which is total injustice with the teachers and masters working under SSA and RMSA.
“Teachers Joint Action Committee is in continuous struggle from last four months and nothing concrete has come out from govt side except hallow promises that's the reason that teachers joint action was forced to announce indefinite hunger strike and our struggle will continue till the issues are redressed,” Wani said.
Wani warned the govt of serious consequences if any of the participants gets harmed during hunger strike. Wani also hailed the courage and determination of all the participants of hunger strike, saying that “we will not let our teachers down and will not compromise with the honour and dignity of our teachers.”
He urged upon Governor of the state Satya Pal Malik, Khurshid Ahmad Ganaie, B B Vyas, Advisors to the Governor, Chief Secretary B.V.R Subramaniyum and Secretary Education Rigzin Sampheal for their personal intervention in implementing 7th pay commission in favour of SSA, RMSA teachers and masters and delinking of their salaries so that these teachers and masters will spend their sweat and blood for shaping the future of students enrolled in the schools.
The leaders of TJAC who participated in first phase of hunger strike include Gazi Ab.Aziz, Mohd Rafiq Rather, Shah Fayaz, Saleem Sager, Saleem Sager, Riyazur Rehman, Ab.Qayoom Sanayi, Shabir Ahmad Bhat, Saleem Kirmani, Mohd.Akbar Dar, Kanwal Kashmiri, Hyder Ali Khan, Nazir Ahmad, Iftikhaar Geelani, Gh.Nabi Sofi, Mohd.Rather, Ab.Majeed Pandit, Showkat Ahmad, Ali Mohd., Mohd Amin Malik, Irshad Ahmad, Ali Mohd, Ab. Rasheed, Nisar Ahmad Far, Farooq Ahmad lasjani, Sameer Fida, Nazeer Ahmad, Javid Ahmad Far, Mohd. Rafiq Malik Mukhtar Ahmad, Zeshaan Parvaiz, Azmat Iqbal, GH Rasool Khan, Shahnawz Ahmad, Mushtaq Ahmad, Azad Hussain, Gh Mohiudin.
The leaders of TJAC from Kargil include Khadim Raza, Hadi Ali, Zakir Karbalayi, Bulbul Ali, Syed Hussain Shah, Anwar Hussain, Syed Ali Mohd Abbas, Hyder and Ali Mohd also participated in today's hunger strike. (KNS)