Kashmir MagazineKashmir News EyeDaily Ilhaaq

Police foils candle light march of TJAC, Qayoom Wani, other leaders arrested

Salary with 7th Pay Commission only solution to the problem: Qayoom Wani


Srinagar, Aug 17 (KNS): One hundred top brass leaders of Teachers Joint Action Committee (TJAC) organised a candle light march from press colony Srinagar to Rajbhawan under the leadership of President EJAC, Chairman Teachers Joint Action Committee Ab Qayoom Wani.
Same kind of protests was also organised at press club Jammu and other Districts of Jammu Province, under the leadership of Ganesh Khajuria and Vinod Sharma.
The protest march from press colony Srinagar comprising of 100 top brass leaders of TJAC marched towards Rajbhawan with candles in their hands as a mark of protest for ignoring 40000 SSA teachers, Head teachers and RMSA Masters from the benefit of 7th Pay Commission which is their legitimate right but the Government deliberately showed step motherly treatment towards the builders of nation and have put them in mental trauma besides caused social and economical problems for them.
While talking to media President EJAC, Chairman Teachers Joint Action Committee Ab Qayoom Wani urged upon the Governor of the state N N Vohra, advisors to Governor B B Viyas, Khursheed Ahmad Ganie, Chief Secretary B.V Subramanyium, Secretary school education Rigzin Sampheal to release the salary of SSA teachers, Head teachers and RMSA Masters as per 7th pay commission otherwise Teachers have decided not to receive salary as per 6th pay commission.
Wani also said that we are not against the committee framed by the Government, the formation of the committee must be exclusively for exploring options for creation of posts for 40000 teachers and linking of their salaries with State sector, but linking implementation of 7th Pay Commission with the committee is totally unacceptable to the teaching fraternity.
Wani said that TJAC has already announced its programme for indefinite hunger strike from 30th August. If Govt failed to redress the sensitivity of issue, then the leadership of TJAC will intensify the agitation and will explore other options of protest to get their legitimate rights redressed.
While moving from Press colony to Rajbhawan a large Contingent of police foiled the march near Kothibagh police station by force and bundled the TJAC leadership in police station Kothibagh.
Wani condemned the police action and warned that any kind of pressure tactics from the Government will yield negative results and the responsibility shall lie on the shoulders of the Government.
The leaders who were arrested along with Ab Qayoom Wani are Mohd Akbar Khan, Riyazul Rehman, Mohd Rafiq Rather, Shah Fayaz, Harpal Singh pali, Qayoom Sanaie, Saleem Sagar, Mohd Afzal Bhat, Hatim Qayoom, Shabir Ahmad Bhat, Manzoor Ahmad Magray, Pir Nisar Ahmad, Feroz Ahmad, Feroz Ahmad Dar, Parvaiz Iqbal, Hyder Ali Khan, Iftiqar Geelani, Showkat Ali Beig, Shah Aashaq, Khadim Raza, Mohd Amin Mohd Akbar Dar, Shahnawaz Ahmad, Gh Nabi Sofi, Nazir Ahmad, Mohd Shafi Rather, Mohd Shafi Wani and others. (KNS)