Kashmir MagzineKashmir News EyeDaily Ilhaaq

Mehbooba Mufti elected PDP President for 6th consecutive term

Thanks workers for reposing trust in her, vows to carry forward Party’s Basic Declaration

Jammu, Dec 02 (KNS): Chief Minister, Mehbooba Mufti was today unanimously elected as the President of Peoples Democratic Party for the consecutive sixth term.
Returning Officer for the elections, Abdur Rehman Veeri announced this after the name of Mehbooba Mufti was proposed by Dr. Haseeb Drabu and it was seconded by Mr. Trilock Singh Bajwa.
In her speech of acceptance after getting unanimously elected, Mehbooba Mufti thanked the members of the electoral college for reposing trust in her leadership. She assured the members of the electoral college to carry forward the Party’s Basic Declaration with renewed enthusiasm and vigour.
Mehbooba Mufti, it may be recalled, has been a dominant force in J&K politics over the past 20 years or so and was first time elected as the Part President in 2003. Being a grassroots political activist, much of the credit for building PDP as a strong regional political force, goes to her
Mehbooba Mufti is so entrenched in local culture that the power hasn’t changed her. She is known for her compassion, courteousness and respect for her colleagues and common people.
Senior Party leader and Member Parliament, Muzzafar Hussain Baig also spoke on the occasion and asked the members of the part to strengthen the hands of the party President.
Others who spoke on the occasion included Party Vice President, Muhammad Sartaj Madni, Nizammudin Bhat, senior leaders Syed Basharat Bukhari, Choudhary Zulfkar, Rafi Ahmad Mir and Saiffudin Bhat. (KNS)

Related News Home