Kashmir MagzineKashmir News EyeDaily Ilhaaq

Madr-e-Meharbaan’s 18th Death Anniversary observed

Omar leads Party Legislators, Leaders in offering Fateha, tribute at Naseem Bagh


Srinagar, Jul 11 (KNS): National Conference on Wednesday observed the 18th Death Anniversary of Madr-e-Meharbaan Begum Akbar Jahan at Qaid Mazaar, Srinagar. Party Vice President Omar Abdullah led Party Legislators and Leaders in offering Fateha and tributes at Naseem Bagh in the morning.
Commemorative functions were also held at Sher-e-Kashmir Bhawan in Jammu and at Ladakh, besides party offices across the State.
Speakers highlighted the contributions of Begum Akbar Jahan to the cause of empowerment and justice in the State and said her legacy continued to be a source of inspiration for the oppressed and disempowerment sections of the society.
Hundreds of party workers, activists and people from all walks of life thronged Qaid Mazaar at Naseem Bagh, Srinagar and offer floral tributes at the grave of Madr-e-Meharbaan.
On this occasion the NC Vice President said Madr-e-Meharbaan is a timeless icon that will continue to be a beacon of inspiration for those who are tirelessly working for the cause of women empowerment and the rights of the voiceless sections of society. “Her contribution in establishing Development Boards and Hostels for tribal and economically backward sections of the society is historic and continues to bear fruit to this day. National Conference will continue to treasure the legacy of Madar-e-Meharbaan and work with honesty and sincerity to uphold our values and ideals”, Omar Abdullah said.
Senior Party Leaders and Legislators spoke about Madr-e-Meharbaan’s legacy and her contributions to the State and its people.
According to the KNS correspondent, among others, Ali Mohammad Sagar, Nasir Aslam Wani, Devender Singh Rana, Mian Altaf, Abdul Rahim Rather, Mir Saifullah, Sakina Itoo, Mubarak Gul, Shamima Firdous, Ishfaq Jabbar, Mohd Sayeed Akhoon, Abdul Majeed Larmi, Showkat Ahmad Ganaie, Chowdhary Mohammad Ramzan, Javid Rana, Basheer Ahmad Veeri, Ali Mohammad Dar, Mohammad Akbar Lone, Nazir Ahmad Gurezi, Altaf Ahmad Kaloo and others were present on the occasion. (KNS)