Newly elected corporators administered oath today

Srinagar, Jan 2 (KNS): The Oath ceremony of newly elected Corporators for the recent process of DDC elections in the UT,J&K was held here in central Office SMC, Karan Nagar today.

As per the result notification of the Chief Electoral Officer,Mohammad Ashraf Dar, Electoral Ward No 14, Salmaan Sagar, Electoral Ward no 18 and 69 and Miss Parvaiz, Electoral ward No 46 were elected as Councilors for Srinagar Municipal Corporation.

On the occassion the Divisional Commisssioner Kashmir P.K Pole administered oath to the newly elected councillors of the Srinagar Municipal Corporation in presence of Mayor SMC Junaid Azim Mattu , Deputy Mayor Parvaiz Qadri , Commissioner SMC Gazanfar Ali, Corporators and other senior Officers of the Corporation.

Pertinently during the September October 2018, the process of conducting election for local bodies was initiated and accordingly 70 Councillor’s were elected for the 74 Electoral wards of Srinagar Municipal Corporation under the provisions of the J&K Municipal Corporation Act , 2000.
However , under the Rule 71of the Municipal Corporation (Election) Rules,2003,three Electoral Wards became Vacant after two elected councillors who were elected from more than one Ward, retained only one Electoral Ward and resigned from thier additional ward .
Also one Electoral Ward was vacant as no vote were polled. (KNS) 

To Top