MMU condemns govt order asking college students, faculty members to participate in Surya Namaskar practice

Srinagar, Jan 14 (KNS): Mutahida Majlis-e-Ulema (MMU), the amalgam of religious organisations in J&K said on Friday condemned the government order asking students, faculty members and staff of all colleges in J&K to participate in ‘Surya Namaskar” practice on Makar Sankranti being observed today. 

MMU in a statement, issued to Kashmir News Service (KNS) said that the authorities are well aware that J&K is a Muslim majority state and they will not participate in religious practices of other religions. 

“To deliberately force them to do so by issuing directives is mischievous. The rulers should be clear that this is completely unacceptable to the Muslims of the state who will never yield to such highhandedness.”

It said that Muslims of J&K are respectful of all religions and believe in harmonious coexistence but will never yield to any pressure, if and when there is any interference in matters related to their faith. 

MMU said that it is quite sad and tells about the sorry state of affairs pervading India, that while the religious practice of one religion gets promoted and imposed in the name of peace and that of the other gets banned and barred in the name of threat, while referring to closure Jama Masjid.

It said that the recent open call of genocide of Muslims in India by a religious conference in Haridwar and the silence of the state in this regard is a shocking case of discrimination against Muslims which has become the order of the day.

The organisations which are part of the Muttahida Majlis-e-Ulema include Anjuman Auqaf Jama Masjid, Darul Uloom Raheemiyah, Jamaith Ahli Hadees, Mufti Azam's Muslim Personal Law Board Anjuman-e-Shari'a Shiaan, Karwani Islami, Ittihadul Muslimeen, Darul Uloom Bilalia, Anjuman Tableegul Islam, Anjuman Himayaul Islam, Anjuman Nusratul Islam, Anjuman Mazharul Haq, Jamiat ul Aima Wa Ulema, Anjuman Imam Wa Mashaikh Kashmir, Darul Uloom Naqshbandia, Darul Uloom Rasheediya, Ahlul Bayt Foundation, Madrasa Kanz Ul Uloom, Pervaan-e-Wilayat, Auqaf Islamia, Muhammadi Trust, Anjuman Anwar ul Islam, Kaarvaan e Khatm e Naboowat and others. (KNS)

To Top