Lok Sabha Election: J&K votes first time since Article 370 repeal as Udhampur goes to polls in phase 1

Srinagar, Apr 19 (KNS): Jammu and Kashmir on Friday voted for the first time since abrogation of Article 370 as polling began early morning in the Udhampur constituency for the 2024 Lok Sabha polls. 

According to details available with KNS, voting began in the Udhampur seat at 7 am as India went to polls in the first phase of the 2024 Lok Sabha polls today 

The polling in all 2,637 polling stations across the constituency despite pouring rain with over 16.23 lakh electorate eligible to exercise their franchise.

Voters will decide the fate of 12 candidates, including Union Minister Jitendra Singh who is eyeing a third term after winning the seat for BJP in the 2014 and 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

This is the first major electoral battle after the abrogation of Article 370 and the bifurcation of the erstwhile state into two Union Territories on August 5, 2019.

Other prominent candidates who are in the fray include Congress leader and two-time former Member of Parliament Choudhary Lal Singh and DPAP's GM Saroori besides Six independents. (KNS)

To Top