Kupwara Journalist body election; Yahya Sultan elected as President

Kupwara, Oct 17:(KNS) Kupwara Journalist body conducted an election on Saturday to elect President of "Journalist Fraternity Kupwara".

There were two candidates in the fray including Yahya Sultan
Yahya is News18 Urdu's Correspondent for Kupwara District.

Yahya was declared as winner as he secured 27 votes out of a total 29 polled.

His opponent secured two votes.

It was for the first time Kupwara Journalists conducted an election to elect the President.

Pertinent to mention that journalists from Handwara and Kupwara for the first time joined hands and united under the banner of "Journalist Fraternity Kupwara".

In the end, elected President Yahya Sultan thanked all the journalists of Kupwara who participated in the election and took a pledge to work for the welfare of the entire fraternity.

A committee of five members was responsible for the conduct of the free and fair election. The committee included Rahee Mushtaq, Javeed Zargar, Shameem Abdullah, Wasim Majnoon Mir, Tarique Rahim.(KNS) 

To Top