Justice Magray set to become Chief Justice of Jammu, Kashmir & Ladakh High Court

Srinagar September 30 (KNS): Supreme Court collegium has recommended Justice Ali Mohammad Magrey for the post of Chief Justice of Jammu, Kashmir, and Ladakh High Court.

The collegium has also recommended the transfer of the incumbent chief justice Pankaj Mithal to Rajasthan High Court.

The five-member SC collegium led by Chief Justice Uday Umesh Lalit passed the resolution recommending the elevation of Justice Magrey and the transfer of Justice Pankaj Mithal. Other members of the collegiums include Justices D Y Chandrachud, Sanjay Kishan Kaul, S Abdul Nazeer, and K M Joseph.

Justice Ali Mohammad Magrey was appointed as a permanent judge of the Jammu and Kashmir High Court in March 2013.

Earlier, he enrolled as an advocate in1984 and started practicing law in the District Courts, including Revenue Courts/Tribunals, and simultaneously started conducting matters in the High Court.
He served as Standing Counsel for the State Financial Corporation; Jammu & Kashmir Bank and SIDCO; Sher-i-Kashmir Institute of Medical Sciences; Power Development Department; Service Selection Board and Jammu & Kashmir Wakf Board.Click Here To Follow Our WhatsApp Channel

He was appointed as additional Advocate General in February 2003. He was allocated General Administration Department, Health and Medical Education Department, Service Selection Board, State Public Service Commission, Estates Department, SKIMS, and Vigilance Department.

Justice Magrey was appointed as Senior Additional Advocate General in September 2009 with an additional charge of the Home Department.

He also appeared and conducted important Public Interest Litigation matters, constitutional matters, service matters, tax matters, civil matters involving high stakes and important issues, arbitration matters, and appeared in Commissions of inquiry also on behalf of erstwhile State of J&K, etc.

Justice Pankaj Mithal was appointed as Chief Justice of the High Court of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh on December 31, 2020.(KNS) 

To Top