In chilly winters government failed to provide proper electricity to people: Gani Vakil

Srinagar, Dec 05 (KNS): Expressing serious concern over precarious power situation in Kashmir valley Sr. Vice President Peoples Conference and former minister Abdul Gani Vakil today said that electricity woes continue unabated in Kashmir valley that too in chilling winters unscheduled power cuts have aggravated woes of people in valley especially in Rafiabad.

“Despite a load-shedding schedule announced by the government, unscheduled and frequent power cuts continue unabated and people are facing massive inconvenience due to power cuts,” Vakil added.

Vakil said power cuts are randomised in Rafiabad and PDC has totally failed to implement its own given schedule.

“It is preposterous that power cuts inevitably go longer every winter since the power deficiency in J&K does not seem to improve,” he said. With the onset of winter Vakil said that unscheduled and prolonged power cuts become an unwritten rule not only in non-metered areas but metered areas as well. The sad part of the story is the government does not follow its own power schedule which it had rolled out with the onset of winter. People had to face low voltage and erratic power supply and students appearing for different examinations are the worst hit by the present power crisis

Abdul Gani Vakil while touring different villages of Rafiabad today including Nowpora Kalan, Dangiwacha, Reban, Hadipora, Behrampora and Hib-Dangerpora further maintained that the present power crisis has exposed the tall claims of UT administration of enhancing energy supply.

There is no schedule for power which is causing a lot of inconvenience to the general public, especially the old and ailing as well as students who are appearing in examinations. Vakil stressed of UT Govt to implement its own schedule in letter and spirits So that people in general & students in particular will not suffer.

Besides others who accompanied Vakil include Sr PC leaders Haji G N Shah, Gh. Hassan Lone, Tariq Ahmad Mir, Tariq Ahmad Khan, M Muzzafar Naikoo, Haji Gh. Nabi Malla. (KNS)

To Top