Ex-Minister Javed Mustafa Elected New JKPM President

Srinagar, August 28 (KNS): Jammu and Kashmir Peoples movement (JKPM) unanimously elected the former cabinet minister Javed Mustafa Mir the new president in as tate executive meeting Saturday in Srinagar. 

Dr. ShahFaesal and Javed Mustafa Mir earlier resigned from the party Presidency and chairmanship respectively.

Shah Faesal, the 37 year-old bureaucrat-turned politician on August 9 removed the party tag from his bio on twitter, giving rise to speculation that he could rejoin the administration back or pursue higher studies. Faesal founded a new political party aiming at an alternate front for greener politics in March 2019.

JKPM in a statement on Saturday said, “The state executive committee has met for the second time after the media reported the resignation of Dr. Shah Faesal from the Party Presidentship and unanimously elected Javed Mustafa Mir as the new party President.”

The statement reads that the former minister Javed Mustafa Mir has reconsidered his resignation taking in view the welfare of the party and the people of Jammu and KashmirThe post of president was vacant after the resignation of Dr. Shah Faesal.

According to the statement the state executive constituted by the then president comprised 24 members. In due course of time five members resigned leaving behind only 19 members in the executive body. 13 outof 19 have unanimously elected Javed Mustafa Mir as the new party president.

Umar Rather, JKPM leader said “The party leaders,workers and the supporters of the party appealed Dr. Shah Faesal and Javed Mustafa Mir to rethink their decisions. Dr. Shah Faesal has tendered an official resignation while Javed Mustafa Mir has joined the party back taking into consideration the welfare of the party and people of Jammu and Kashmir”.

However, soon after Shah Faesal dropped the JKPM President tag from his bio on social media, a statement was issued by thePeoples Movement that reads that after Faesal had stepped down as party president and vice president Feroze Peerzada had been appointed to replace him.

Reacting to the unilateral decision, the 13 state executive members of JKPM earlier elected Dr. Mohammad Hussain Paddar as theworking President in a meeting.

As a result of this, the party was divided into two sections.

However, with the election of Javed Mustafa Miras the new President, a new zeal and zest has brimmed in the party cadre,supporters and people, reads the statement.(KNS) 

To Top