Dr Farooq calls for larger role for women in decision, policy making

JAMMU, FEBRUARY 20:(KNS)  Saying that the National Conference has all along been striving for gender equality, party President Dr Farooq Abdullah today emphasized on political empowerment of women and their larger role in policy and decision making.


Involvement of women in decision making and policy planning is necessary for achieving comprehensive, unbiased and sustainable development, which will eventually lead to harmonious growth of the society”, Dr Abdullah said while interacting with the newly constituted NC Provincial Women Wing at a function here this afternoon.


Provincial President of the Women Wing Mrs Satwant Kour Dogra introduced the new office bearers at the brief function. Among others, Provincial President Mr Rattan Lal Gupta was also present on the occasion.


Dr. Farooq Abdullah referred to measures taken by the National Conference over the years for women empowerment and emancipation, saying this is necessary for promoting leadership roles among them.


Congratulating the newly appointed office bearers, Dr Farooq said that due to the prevailing situation  the women of Jammu and Kashmir have been the worst sufferers. Discrimination and depravity at the societal and domestic-level with our mothers and sisters is not unknown in this part of the world, he added.


“Rising unemployment and inflation in J&K is also having a cascading effect on our promising women. However, it is elating to see that girls are second to none and, in fact, they have been excelling in various fields, especially education. Having women in politics, it goes without saying that it will attune party policies towards the needs of women and prepare them for the leadership roles to face the challenges of the present and future. I hope that the newly elected functionaries will help in strengthening the party at grass root level and also in peacemaking and development in the region,” he added.


Exhorting the newly constituted body to work in tandem for increasing the foothold of the party, he said that the contemporary generation of women and girls have eminent and towering women figures to draw inspiration from. The need of the hour is to provide a platform to aspiring women and help in creating impactful voices to take on the looming challenges.Click Here To Follow Our WhatsApp Channel  He hoped that the functionaries would reach out to the people and help them solve their problems.


Speaking on the occasion, Provincial President Women Wing Mrs Satwant Kour Dogra recalled the opportunities provided by the National Conference since its inception by offering a vibrant platform to women to excel in politics, administration and other spheres of activity. In this context, she referred to the pioneering role of Madr-e-Mehrban Begum Sheikh Mohammed Abdullah, especially in female literacy.


She said Jammu and Kashmir women will always remain indebted to Madr-e-Mehrban, who brought a huge turnaround in female literacy and as a result of sustained efforts the girls are now outshining in academics, excelling in administration and other fields besides playing their role in democratic institutions.


          The Provincial Committee of Women Wing included Atiqa Jan, DDC Member from Mandi, Poonch is nominated as Sr. Vice President whereas Hamida Rana from Mendhar, Khurshida Begum from Rajouri, Rama Sambyal from Samba, Soma Devi from Hiranagar, Rama Gupta from Udhampur, Pushpa Dogra from Chenani, Asha Mehra from Jammu, Shama Begum from Ramban and Raj Kaur from Jammu are nominated  as Vice Presidents.


Seema Mehra and Manveer Kaur both from Jammu (Urban) are nominated as Provincial Secretaries


Shamim Akhtar, DDC Member from Moughla, Shamim Begum DDC Member from Dansal, Rubina Begum Bhat DDC Member from Inderwal, Anju Grover and Veena Mangotra from Jammu and Praveen Sila from Reasi are nominated as Joint Secretaries.


Also present on the occasion included former Minister Ch. Ramzan, former Minister Nazir Ahmed Gurezi, former Minister Abdul Gani Malik,  YNC Provincial President Mr Ajaz Jan, Ex- MLA Bimla Luthra, Ex-MLA Ghulam Rasool Naz,  Ex- MLC Depinder Kaur, DDC Member Begum Suraiya, District President Jammu  (R ) Daljeet Sharma, District President Reasi Asha Devi, District President Kathua (R) Ashu Rajput, District President Samba Rajni Devi, Dr. Sheikh Amina, District Vice President Jammu Charanjeet Deol, Shakuntala Devi and others were present.

To Top