Congress holds protests against fuel price hike

Submits memorandum to President of India

Srinagar June 29, (KNS): The Jammu and Kashmir Pradesh Congress Committee (JKPCC) today lodged a strong protest against the unprecedented price hike in petroleum, Diesel and LPG and demanded its roll back.
As part of Nation Wide programme launched by the All India Congress (AICC), the JKPCC has organized district wise protests in the entire Jammu and Kashmir against the unprecedented hike in petroleum, diesel and LPG, describing it as anti-people measure adopted by the Modi Govt.
According to statement issued to KNS, the District Presidents of the Party also submitted memorandum to President of India through respective District Magistrates demanding that price escalation of diesel and petrol must be stopped very immediately.
The said during the last three and half month, the BJP Govt has increased 21/ petrol and Rs. 26 on diesel putting heavy burden on the people, which is absolutely unjustified and deserves strong condemnation.
They said the wrong polices adopted by the Modi Govt was responsible for the hike in petrol, diesel and LPG despite the price on crude oil constantly remaining less than 50 percent for the last six years, ironically the petroleum and diesel prices are skyrocketing, as a result, common people especially transporters, farmers and other sections of the people are bearing the brunt of price hike.
The excise duty was 9.20 per litre on petrol and Rs. 3.46 per litre on diesel whereas in six years after assuming power Modi Govt has increased it to Rs. 23.78 on petrol and Rs. 28.37 on Diesel per litre increasing it to 820 % on diesel and 258% on petrol, they said.
Congress Party demands immediate roll back of price hike to ensure that common people were not forced to stop their day-to -day activities due to the unprecedented hike, they added.
Senior Party Leaders led by District Presidents Haji Farooq Mir (Kupwara), Gulam Mohi U Din Bhat (Anantnag), Abdul Gani Khan (Srinagar), Zahid Hussain Jan (Budgam), Sahil Farooq (Ganderbal) Farooq Ahmad Bhat (Kulgam), Umer Jan (Pulwama), Mohd Ismail (Gurez), Nissar Ahmad Khan, Gh. Mohd Dar (Bandipora) and various other leaders submitted the Memorandum to respective District Magistrates. (KNS)

To Top