CLUJ Organises India@75 Lecture Series

Jammu December 15 (KNS):  The Department of Students Welfare under the patronage of Prof. Bechan Lal, Vice Chancellor, Cluster University of Jammu organized a one day lecture series on the theme “India @75” on 15 th December, 2022 in Govt. SPMR College of Commerce, Jammu to celebrate 75 years of Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsov. Dr. Shamim Ahamed, Faculty, Department of Economics and Prof. Apfan Ali, Faculty, Department of Economics, Govt. SPMR College of Commerce was the Resource Persons at the event. Dr. Surinder Kumar, Principal, Govt. SPMR College of Commerce presided over the function. He congratulated the organizers for putting so muchefforts to conduct the lecture series under the aegis of Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav. He also appreciated the students and staff members for their active participation and encouraged them to be part of such activities in future also.

Dr. Shamim Ahamed in his session discussed the milestones achieved in the Indian Economy during the 75 years of Independence. With the help of illuminating power point, he made comparison of Indian Economy with other developed countries in 75 years (with statistical data). He highlighted about the progress and upgradation in the field of economy viz in education sector, in employment, in per capita income, defence budget. Prof. Apfan Ali focused on the achievements in Education sector after Independence. He talked about the merits of newly implemented NEP 2020 and its focus on skill oriented multidisciplinary courses. He emphasized on promotion of Girl education and its impact on nation building.

Around 80 students from Constituent colleges and PG Schools of Cluster University of Jammu participated in the event which was followed by an interactive session. The programme was supervised by Dr. Devinder Kumar Sharma, Associate Dean, Students Welfare, CLUJ and coordinated by Prof. Reeta Menia, Assistant Dean, Students Welfare, CLUJ who also gave a formal vote of thanks. Prof. Archana Kaul , Chairperson, Campus Cultural Committee, Prof. Mohd. Ashraf, Assistant Dean, Students Welfare, CLUJ , Prof. Barbara Kaul, Dr. Sandhaya Bharadwaj, Dr. Monika Malhotra, Prof. Deepshikha Sharma, Teaching fraternity of SPMR College were also present were also present on the occasion.(KNS)

To Top